Gos Tarelo (Beef Curry)

Gos Tarelo

As a kid, I loved going to my nani’s (grandma’s) house. It was always fun to play with my cousins and I always loved to watch her cook (wish I was smart enough to actually learn to cook!). During my recent trip back to E. Africa, I spent a lot of time with her and she fussed over me like I was a new-born (can’t say I didn’t love it!). She made me all my favorites and every meal that she made took me right back to my childhood. She made the best Gos Tarelo, here is her recipe via my lovely aunt in England. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Recipe: Gos Tarelo

Categories: Main Dishes; beef

Accompaniments: Parotha

Source: My grandma

Servings: 5-6

Ingredients:

Base ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 pounds of beef cubes (the recipe calls for topside meat which is a tender cut, beef on bones. I used bone-less beef stew since that was all I had on hand)

Marinade:

  • 1 Tbsp vinegar
  • 1 cup unflavored yogurt
  • 2 large fresh tomatoes, finely diced
  • 2 Tbsp garlic paste
  • 1 Tbsp ginger paste
  • 2 small cinnamon sticks (taj)
  • 4-5 whole black peppercorns (mari)
  • 2 cardamom pieces (elachi)
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder or to taste
  • 1 tsp salt or to taste

For curry:

  • 3 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp garlic paste
  • 1 tsp of red chili paste a.k.a. marcha kutela (optional)
  • 2 heaping Tbsp of tomato paste (a.k.a tomato puree)
  • 1 egg

For garnish:

  • 2 medium-sized potatoes, peeled and cut into large chunks

Directions:

  • Cut off all the extra fat from the beef. To wash the meat, in a bowl add 1 Tbsp of white vinegar, add the meat and cover with cool water. After a couple of minutes, drain the meat and wash again with cool water.
  • Mix together the ingredients listed under ‘marinade’ and add it to the meat. Let it marinate for 1/2 hour. If marinating the meat for longer,  put the mix in the fridge.
  • Let the meat cook covered on slow heat until well cooked (since I’m so impatient, I put it in the pressure cooker and cooked it for about 1/2 hour).
  • Meanwhile, fry the potatoes till golden and keep aside.
  • Moving on to the curry, heat the oil. Add the garlic paste, tomato puree and some red chilies if you want.
  • Add the cooked meat and all the gravy that it cooked in and mix well. Let the mixture simmer on low heat.
  • Crack and egg and beat it. Add it to the gravy. Mix well (I don’t like egg, so I skipped this step, tastes fine!). Let the curry come to a slow boil.
  • Add the fried potatoes.
  • Pour the curry into an oven-proof dish.
  • Heat the oven to 350° F. Put the curry into the oven and cook until the curry sizzles and becomes golden brown on the top.
  • Garnish with cilantro and onion rings before serving.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

