Dates Chutney

I have lots of dates left over from Ramadhan so in my pursuit for a recipe in my book, I found this chutney. This recipe makes a lot, so scale down to your liking.

Recipe: Dates chutney

Also known as: N/A

Accompaniments: N/A

Source: N/A

Servings: N/A

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dates, pitted
  • 1 cup lemon juice
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 10 green chillies (really hot ones)
  • 1 tsp roasted jeeru seed (cumin), toasted then ground (or just 1 tsp heaped of jeeru/cumin powder)
  • 1 tsp salt (to taste)

Directions:

  • Add all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. If you are having trouble blending, add some hot water. I like the chutney thick so I don’t add water. It makes about 3 cups of chutney and freezes well.
Leave a Reply

